Muslim, Christian, & Jewish Leaders Release Joint Declaration
Issuing Guidelines to Peace
Call On President to "Draw Back From First Strike War"

Interfaith Summit, Chicago, Illinois, April 30, 2003


Rev. Dan Gerhard,
Pastor, Monroe United Methodist Church,
Monroe, WA

Rev. George McLaird,
Presbyterian (USA) pastor, retired,
San Francisco, CA

Rev. H. A. Tillinghast,
United Methodist minister,
Eureka, CA

Rev. Dave Steffenson, Ph.D.,
The Upstream Institute for Eco-Ethics,
Columbus, WI

Nancy Bromfield,
Episcopal Church layperson,
Salt Lake City, UT

Fr. Chris Ponnet,
Pastor, St. Camillus and Pax Christi member,
Los, Angeles, CA

Rev. Robert Welsh,
Ecumenical Officer, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Indianapolis, IN

Dr. Peter Gathje,
Christian Brothers University,
Memphis, TN

Molly Rush,
Organizer, The Thomas Merton Center,
Pittsburgh, PA

Rev. John B. McLaren,
retired Presbyterian minister,
Elmira, NY

Phyllis Taub Albritton,
Elder, Blacksburg Presbyterian Church,
Blacksburg, VA

David Dixon,
Coordinator, Fellowship of Reconciliation,
Charlotte, NC

Rev. James Winkler,
General Secretary, General Board of Church and Society - United Methodist Church,
Washington, DC

Rev. Dr. Clifton Kirkpatrick,
Stated Clerk, Presbyterian Church (USA),
Louisville, KY

Rev. Cynthia J. Crowner,
Kirkridge Retreat Center,
Bangor, PA

Sarah Flick,
United Methodist layperson,
Cupertino, CA

Joy Crocker,
Church Women United Northern California/Nevada,
Oakland, CA

Rev. Linda Campbell,
Assistant Pastor, Church of the Incarnation (Episcopal),
Santa Rosa, CA

Conrad Snavely,
North Manchester, IN

Ruth Hultman,
San Jose Friends Meeting (Quaker),
Santa Clara, CA

Gayraud S. Wilmore,
Presbyterian Church (USA),
Washington, DC

Dr. Michael J. Stephen,
Elmwood Park, IL

Eric M. LeCompte,
Chair, US National Council, Pax Christi,
Morgantown, WV

Jenean McKay,
Member of New York Avenue Presbyterian Church,
Washington, DC

John Dornheim

Vince Petersen
Franciscan Friar
El Paso, TX

Mary M. Miner
Ellicott City, MD

Harold Parker
White, GA

Marilyn Wienk
Chair, Public Policy Committee
Rochester NY Episcopal Diocese

Gina Gamble
Chevy Chase, MD

Sr. Vincent Walz
Daughters of Charity
Bridgeton, MO

Norbert Hinckley
Pax Christi
Baton Rouge, LA

Leadership Council
Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart Of Mary
Monroe, MI

Peace Coalition of Southern Illinois,
Fellowship of Reconciliation

Alison E. Taylor
New York, NY

Social Concerns Committee
San Fernando Valley Interfaith Committee

Gerardo Gonzalez
Coordinator, Santiago Spiritual Forum for Peace
Santiago, Chile

Milton Leake
Chair, Peace and Justice Committee,
Episcopal Diocese of Central Pennsylvania

Howard Johnson
Chair, Peacemaking Committee
Presbytery of Scioto Valley
Presbyterian Church (USA)
Worthington, OH

Dr. Joseph C. Hough, Jr.
President, Union Theological Seminary,
New York, NY

Rev. Stan Hastey,
Executive Director, Alliance of Baptists,
Washington, DC

Thomas P. Webb,
Pax Christi USA National Council Member,
Chicago, IL

Bishop McKinley Young,
Presiding Prelate, African Methodist Episcopal Church,
Dallas, TX

Rev Gloria Weber,
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America,
St. Louis, MO

Bonny Stalnaker Roth
Evanston, IL

Carolyn W. Walker
Missoula, MT

Darrell Grizzle
Marietta, GA

Joy Ann Szopinski
Juliustown, NJ

Judy Eltringham
Episcopal Peace Fellowship
Fraser, MI

Wanda Guthrie
Episcopal Peace Fellowship
Murrysville, PA

Michael Gillum
Russellville, AR

Peter Anderson
Santee, CA

Sr. Claire Regan
Sisters of Charity of New York, Office of Justice and Peace
Bronx, NY

Rev. Richard Mosley, Jr.
St. James United Methodist Church
Chicago, IL

Robert Harder
Retired Elder, United Methodist Church
Topeka, KS

Robert Merikangas
Silver Spring, MD

A. Joan Ronan McDonald
Chaplain, Bon Secours Cottage Health System
Huntington Woods, MI

Rev. Werner Lange

Wesley M. Pattillo
Director of Communication, National Council of Churches
New York, NY

Maryellen Hayden
ACORN Organizer
Pittsburgh, PA

Phil Runkel
Waukesha, WI

Edward Cooney
Trenton, MI

Maurita Bernet
Phoenix, AZ

Dennis R. M. Teall-Fleming
Director of Faith Formation,
Queen of Apostles Catholic Church
Gastonia, NC

Henrietta Maloney

Deborah Alborell
Sarasota, FL

Mary Jo Riley
Crystal Lake, IL

Judy Johnson
Lake Worth, FL

G. Forrest Hoppe
Alexandria, MN

Andrew Reumann-Moore
Philadelphia, PA

Rev. Robert Browne
Presbyterian Church (USA)
Albequerque, NM

Rev. Charles White
Presbyterian Church (USA)
Wofford Heights, CA

Dr. Marilee Howard, RSM
Sisters of Mercy
Silver Spring, MD

Henrietta Maloney

Justice and Witness Team
Illinois South Conference,
United Church of Christ

Justice and Witness Committee,
Church of the Good Shepherd,
Carbondale, IL

Faisal Alam
Founder & Director
Al-Fatiha Foundation
Washington, DC

Rev. Reuben H. Gums
President, Tri-State Media Ministry, Inc.
New York, NY

Sabina Alkire
Washington, DC

Deanna Stickley-Miner
Director of Connectional Mission and Justice
West Ohio United Methodist Conference
Columbus, OH

Tarunjit Butalia
Faith Communities Uniting for Peace
Worthington, OH

Nancy E. Parsons
United Church of Christ
Westerville, OH

Note to Readers: The Domestic Interfaith Summit was co-called by the National Council of Churches USA, Islamic Society of North America and Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism.  Individuals and groups wanting to endorse the "Urgent Call" and "Words of Reflection" may do so by clicking here.

About the National Council of Churches
NCC Home Page